English Delight!

Inger is taking a little break tonight from her blog, sitting on her couch watching the Sweden versus North Ireland game and chatting with my mom about the good ol' days of the 1970's and 80's. 
This was when Swedish Women's football was in its prime (insert here Bruce Springstein's song "Glory Days") and the Råsunda Stadium (where the Swedish men are playing now) was the scene for one of her first official women's Sweden Cup Championship 1983...and by the way, Sunnanå won against Hammarby! And, to glorify and exploit Inger's stories, it was a big thing to play in this national arena and she had a very good game.
They also speak about the first official European championship 1984 when Sweden won gold medal and some stories about that experience.
So...I have stolen her computer to write up a savoury Kiwi American delicacy as dessert to our dinner evening. 
I'm sitting here in my CPM (continuous passive motion) machine which is helping in my recovery from my microfracture surgery of articular cartilege in my right knee that I had two weeks ago. It's quite a long rehab with a while on crutches. When my mom found out about my surgery, she decided to fly out here from Los Angeles, California where she resides with my dad, sister and my two beautiful awesome golden retrievers, who are getting older every time I return home and have even resorted to lying down on the trails during our walks--lazy, but still fantastic company. 
Having been away from my tight-knit family since I was 1999 (with the exception of a year at home in 2003 after graduating from University) when things are great with me, Sweden doesn't feel so far away from California. And Sweden is a beautiful country of beautiful people and a fantastic place to live. Although, to be fair, the weather sure feels different...especially lately... Sweden feels like home too because of my great friends and my international mother, Inger, who tonight has cooked a gorgeous meal of Swedish treats like kantareller (mushrooms) and fish and potatoes soup, and who never hesitates to take care of anything that I may need. She has numerous "international" children, Perpetua Nkochwa is another, that she tucks under her wing and cares for as her own. 

But at times, when things are tough, I can sometimes feel like I'm in the far north of a very long and cold country and far far away from my warm haven of Rolling Hills, California. 
Since my mom's arrival, she's been pretty busy--driving me around (not allowed to drive), cleaning, doing laundry, ironing, and, before this begins to sound like I have brought my mom out here to double as my personal maid, she's also being great company and a positive source of energy and inspiration.  Just to have my mom here, to share this experience with me, to hold my crutches and make my tea, and to laugh with me, and just be here...it feels like home. And there's almost nothing else that can "hit that spot." So, this evening, I can watch the yellow jerseys running around at Råsunda Stadium, and feel like they are my home country, because home has come to me, and simply, home is where the heart is. 

Som ni förstår lånade jag ut min dator till Rebecca Smith en stund. Ikväll bjöd jag nämligen hem henne med sin influgna mamma och Sanna Frostevall på middag. En trevlig kväll med herrlandslaget till desserten. Sorry att vi inte lyckades låsa oss vidare till EM men vi kommer att fixa det till slut - det är jag övertygad om.

Själv tänker jag också på de fantastiska tjejerna i dagens fotbollslag som är så ambitiösa, lojala, utvecklingsinriktade och engagerade (vilket vi också var). Det är konstigt att denna drivkraft har inte förändrats även om förutsättningarna har förbättrats några kliv. För att bli en bra elitispelare krävs ju en extra drivkraft och att älska att spela fotboll. Lära sig mer om spelet, gå och titta på fotboll, skapa bilder av sig själv på planen och om hur och var jag lär mig mer? Det är frågor som kräver lite extra för att bli bäst. 
Fortfarande kan jag känna att jag har drivkraften kvar men hallå - inte kroppen! 
Annars skulle jag väl hålla på än för när jag tänker efter så har jag ju mer kunskap, medvetenhet och insikt eftersom jag varit tränare (att lära ut ger verkligen insikt), ledare (att leda sig själv och andra ger dig medvetenhet) och förståelse (att kunna organisera och planera för andra) - 
vilket då som summa summarum skulle vara att jag är en bättre fotbolls- och lagspelare nu eller hur!? Har kanske aldrig varit bättre?

Lite nostalgisk är ju aldrig fel att bli och hur som helst är jag oerhört tacksam för allt det jag lärt mig genom fotbollen och idrotten. Så många vänner, så mycket glädje, värme, skratt, tårar och gemenskap, så mycket utmaningar jag har lärt mig av och framför allt lärt känna mig själv. 

Ingen träning idag men imorgon....då blir det yoga! Jomenvisst!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Pia

Skönt att höra att en gammal målvaktstant fortfarande har energi kvar. Pionjären från Falköping/ Öxabäck sprider sin erfarenhet i norrland. Väl så. Fortsätt med det. Hälsningar En center/libero/mf från Den Gamla Goda Tiden

2007-10-18 @ 11:10:07
Postat av: Anonym

föregående kommantator benämner sig libero, allvarligt talat det var väl ändå att ta i!
Se till och kom iväg på yogan idag nu då vetja!
Hälsningar Liberon

2007-10-18 @ 14:35:43

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback